h1

Master Mason in the Making

April 21, 2007

WaitingMy Lodge has decided to have each of our Fellowcrafts go through the Master Mason degree individually.  My degree ceremony will be held in about 5 weeks time, and I will be the third of my group to go through. 

I am looking forward to the degree ceremony, even though I am a little more rushed than when I was preparing for the Fellowcraft degree.  There is also more pressure because there is nobody to back me up during my “proving-up” portion, but I’m looking forward to not having to share the degree with another candidate.  I’m sure that everyone prefers not to have to share their birthday party with anyone else as well…

At our last meeting, the first of our group went through his Master Mason Degree.  Myself and the other Fellowcrafts were able to stay in the Lodge while he went through his Fellowcraft Catechisms.  He was very nervous, but only paused slightly on two occasions during his entire examination.  I guess he has now set the bar at 100 percent for the rest of us.

After his proving-up, everyone below the level of a Master Mason had to retire and leave the Lodge room for the duration of the Master Mason degree.

I discovered that it turned out to be a very, very long degree.  We waited outside of the Lodge for about 2.5 hours in total while the degree took place.  Since I don’t know all of the details of the degree ceremony yet, I could only wonder what they were doing in there for so long.

Perhaps part of the ceremony was for everyone to leave out the back door of the lodge and go bowling for a few games in homage to the Flinstones’ Water Buffaloes Fraternity…

I guess I’ll know soon enough and I will be able to appreciate being the center of attention for so long.  With the amount of Work that the Degree Team must be presenting, I can only assume that the amount of preparation I need to do for the degree is very small in comparison.

The next meeting is another Master Mason degree, so I guess on the positive side of things, it will give the Fellowcrafts more time to practice our work for our own Master Mason degree ceremonies.  I think to satisfy my curiosity about the bowling, I’ll keep an eye on the parking lot of the Lodge though. 

This is my 21st post on Freemasonry and my experiences as a Freemason.  Here is the Table of Contents of my Masonic Journey.

5 comments

  1. I was a little upset when I found out that I would be taking my EA with 5 other guys. During the EA studies, the “true” Masons were made known and the “posers” were weeded out. I ended up taking my FC with one other Brother whom I had grown to be good friends with. He and I took the FC together and took the MM together. We also returned the FC lecture together, and we’ll return the MM lecture together on Saturday 28 Apr.

    The MM is the longest of all the degrees, and I want to talk to you about it after you take it. Please email me after your raising that night.

    But I can say that the MM is usually broken into 2 parts. Isaiah and I took the first part together and we were separated for the second part. I think for both of us, the whole night lasted around 2 hours. I attended a raising in Ashland, KY where 4 candidates were Raised. I learned that there is a “short form” and a “long form” to the degree. Isaiah and I both got the “short form” as well as did 3 Brothers in Ashland. But one got the “long form” and it took almost 2 hours just by itself. We were there for nearly 4 hours that night.

    My best wishes to you in this time. You will enjoy it, and remember that everyone in your lodge and every Mason on this planet has gone through the same thing you’ll go through in 5 weeks. Follow your guide, Brother, and fear no danger.

    Fraternally thine,
    Bro. J. Wright M.’.M.’.


  2. While the lessons come from the journey, being raised doesnt mean the journey ends. I look forward to that day as much as Im sure you do! Congrats and keep us posted! Im still working on my EA prof. guess the good news is 5 training sessions in and Ive gotten 54 of the 84 questions MOSTLY down a few Im still working on smoothing out!


  3. Hi. I’m form Puerto Rico. I hope my writing is good enough. On Monday, I will be interviewed by members of the lodge that I place the petition. I hope to do a good interview and be elected to be initiated soon.

    My best wishes to you.

    José


  4. Your lodge is doing a Good Thing. I was raised in a group ceremony put on by the Scottish Rites, and I missed very much the intensity of personal experience. It’s also good to hear your lodge is raising so many candidates this year. Rev Dubya — it’s unfortunate that in this day of one day classes not everyone has the same experience any more. And seeker of the light — where are you located? In Michigan the long form is not even an option, although I will be doing MM proficiency the long way anyway.


  5. My lodge is in Connecticut and we do not use the short form, but some lodges in the area do. We have been lucky that we have two to five for each MM deg. I do not think that it is a bad thing to be raised with other brothers. I myself was raised with four others. We are all still active in our lodge, and all but one have taken a chair.



Comments are closed.

