h1

The Expulsion of a Freemason

March 12, 2007

Expulsion At my last Lodge meeting, an informational letter was read from our Grand Lodge that dealt with the expulsion of a Brother.  He had been convicted of a crime and had admitted his guilt and as such, all rights and privilages he had enjoyed in his Lodge or in the fraternity in general were now revoked.

Our Secretary commented after reading the letter that this decision was appropriate in order to uphold the strict moral standards of the fraternity and to keep “characters” like him from embarrassing Freemasonry.

I looked up expulsion at www.masonicdictionary.com and here is part of the definition:

He can no longer demand the aid of his Brethren nor require from them the performance of any of the duties to which he was formerly entitled, nor visit any Lodge, nor unite in any of the public or private ceremonies of the Order. He is considered as being without the pale, and it would be criminal in any Brother, aware of his expulsion, to hold communication with him on Masonic subjects.”

Part of the qualifications that I had to satisfy to become a Freemason were that I was a “just and upright man, had sound judgement and strict morals.”  I didn’t have to prove that I was completely free of sin, but there were basic things like not having a criminal record and honoring any debts or financial obligations that I might have.

In my “real life”, I have several co-workers and acquaintances who I know would not be dependable or trustworthy in many situations.  Many of them are very self-centered, lack any concern for others or even have the capability to experience empathy.  Several of them work in the corporate environment and have no problem over-billing and under-performing.

It is comforting to know that my Brethren can be relied upon to be true and reliable friends if needed.  I am proud to be in an organization that screens people to make sure that they are “good” men and insistis upon it’s members maintaining those standards. 

I’ll admit that when I heard about this man being expelled from Freemasonry, it sent a little shiver down my spine because I realized how serious Masonry was about being an honorable and decent man. 

During the discussion during our Festive Board, one Brother stated that Freemasonry makes a good man a better man, it doesn’t try to turn bad men into good men.

This is my 16th post on Freemasonry and my experiences as a Freemason.  Here is the Table of Contents of my Masonic Journey.

3 comments

  1. I am glad that you are such an upright man. I also hope that you are aware that you cannot judge the character of another man…their is only one person that can do that. Also, if you prided yourself on being a good Brother, you would try to help this man and not condemn him. Your lodge needs some work.

    If your arguement is that this man did something seriously wrong then you should publish what he did … otherwise, do not bother giving us half the story.


  2. This was a step taken by the Grand Lodge. The Brother was from another city and I heard about it in correspondence from the Grand Lodge after the fact.


  3. Apparently a court of law must have judged this man prior to being black balled. You have to commit a serious offense to be thrown out all together. I have heard of people being suspended for 2 or three years. The worst suspension here in Maryland I know of was 20 years. So if this guy was thrown out, he must have committed a serious felony. We do not need people in our fraternity like that.



Comments are closed.

