h1

Freemasons like to Party!

January 28, 2007

Robbie Burns Robbie Burns.  A famous Scottish poet and Freemason.  I soon found out that he was more famous as a “lady’s man” and eighteeth century party animal than anything else.  One of the reasons that he is so celebrated is that half of Scotland can claim him as an acestor, some of them even legitimately.

Regardless of the reason, Freemasons throughout the world love to drink scotch and complain about the haggis every January to celebrate the life of one of their own.  I was told that because Robbie Burns was a starving poet, each night he would go to a different lodge so that he could eat at their festive boards.  Soon his poetry started to become payment for his supper at various lodges.

My lodge hosted a Robbie Burns Supper a few days ago, and I will admit that I was very impressed.  The size and organization actually reminded me of a large wedding reception.

Around 120 people attended the Supper and maybe 30 men were in kilts!   We all entered the hall in a procession following a bagpiper.  The dinner itself was full of speaches and toasts, great food and good company.  We were also entertained by dancers from the Wilson School of Highland Dance and the St. Andrews Caledonian Society Choir.

I had never eaten haggis before this night.  To be honest, the haggis appeared to be just ground beef with what looked like bits of saw dust and spices throughout.  I found it to be quite good.  

I know that basically it is made up of all of the intimate animal parts that historically human kind and most desperate scavenger animals leave alone.  I didn’t really want to look more deeply into what was actually in it then, and I think I’ll keep it that way. 

We had four Entered Apprentices there, 7 Brothers were 50 year members of the lodge and everything else inbetween.

It struck me that being a Freemason was not just a casual club for these long-standing members.  They have literally spent a lifetime in the Craft living by Freemasonry’s principles and ideals. 

Two of our Entered Apprentices right now are sons of Brethren and parts of their Initiations were delivered by their fathers.  This is really a multi-generational way of life for many.

As the evening drew to a close, it dawned on me that someone was going to have to clean up.  It then dawned on me that I was right at the bottom of the totel pole with 3 others….  I really hope that by next year’s Burns Dinner we have a lot more Entered Apprentices…

This is my 11th post on Freemasonry and my experiences as a Freemason.  Here is the Table of Contents of my Masonic Journey.

2 comments

  1. Ah yes – the clean up!

    We’ve all been there. It’s not so bad, really, especially if a few other guys pitch in. And then, when you’re done, it’s a good excuse to have another scotch!


  2. I did a cleanup after a supper feeding about 200. Despite the sore back from leaning over the sink, I had a great time and enjoyed the camaraderie.



Comments are closed.

