h1

The Freemason Investigative Committee

January 8, 2007

EA investigation The next step was to be visited/interrogated from the Investigative Committee which was to be made up of 3 members of the lodge that I had not yet met. 

I tried my best to search the Internet for information about what to expect, but didn’t find too much information.  I found one Blog that mentioned that his investigation was fairly painless, but I was hoping to find many sources that said the same thing.  Perhaps he just managed to get off easy.

I did research the reasons why others had joined Freemasonry and I found this link on “A Page About Freemasonry” that had dozens of short essays on that topic.  I read through a lot of them in the hopes that if I was asked this question, I could combine all of the best reasons into the perfect response.  If anything, it made me actually think of why I was attracted to join.

About 3 weeks after I signed my application, the Committee came to my house.  My house was cleaner than it had been in many years…  Two of the brothers were about 10-15 years older and the other was around my age.

My wife was also there because they had made it clear that it was very important for her to attend.  They were very concerned about telling her what I was getting into.  They gave her a brochure entitled “For a Mason’s Lady”.  The text of that letter is also on “A Page About Freemasonry” here.  It had some basic questions and answers about what Freemasonry is.  I think that the title of that brochure is a tad bit outdated…  I referred to my wife as a “Mason’s Lady” later on that night, and, well… it didn’t go over so well.  My wife used the term “cheesy” when describing the brochure.

Back to the investigation.  They made it clear that there were regular meetings 2 nights a month and possibly more commitments and wanted to make sure that she was OK with that.  She said that she was fine with everything and had no concerns.  I guess if the “Mason’s Lady” isn’t on-board, there is no point even continuing any further.

The actual questions that they had to ask me were very basic ones, many of which were simple “yes” or “no” ones.  There was nothing really new that I had not discussed with my initial Sponsors already.  They wrote those answers down, but the majority of the interview was a general chit chat where everyone got to know one another.  I guess that the overall impression of the candidate is just as important as the questions.

Much of the time was actually spent with the committee telling me all about what I can expect out of Freemasonry, and all of the activities that will be available for me to participate in.  One of the Masons is an entertainer by trade and was full of stories of the good times that the three of them have had together.  By the end of the evening I was very excited about joining, and I was looking forward to becoming friends with all 5 of the Freemasons I had met so far.   

I was told that at the next lodge meeting, my petition would be read and that they would report on their results of my investigation. Then the members would be voting on whether to accept me into the lodge.  I was a little concerned about the fact that if one single person voted against me and “black-balled” me, my application would be denied.  I wasn’t really concerned because I was a “bad” person, but who knew who could be a member of the lodge.  Maybe there was someone who hated me from elementary school who had waited almost 30 years to get his revenge?

This is my 6th post on Freemasonry and my experiences as a Freemason.  Here is the Table of Contents of my Masonic Journey.

One comment

  1. I think that the title of that brochure is a tad bit outdated… […] My wife used the term “cheesy” when describing the brochure.

    *snerk*

    Yeah, I’ve often used terms like “hokey” or “corny” when describing some of these things. I’ve seen my own wife cock an eyebrow a few times. Somewhere in all this paraphenalia, I’ve even got a pin that says “Mason’s Lady” on it. But despite the 1950s phrasing, there is a good underlying attitude.

    I wrote an article about the “hokey-ness” of much of what we do. I just don’t really have any explanation for it, except, maybe, inertia.



Comments are closed.

