h1

Discovering Freemasonry

December 31, 2006

The purpose of this post is to explain how I first discovered the world of Freemasonry. 

It has been about a month since I was first initiated into Freemasonry.  At this point I have been to two meetings in my new lodge.  The first meeting was my Initiation and the second meeting was actually another First Degree Initiation, so in reality, I really don’t know much about anything yet.  Over the next little while, I’ll Blog more about Masonry to catch right up to where I am today.

What I will be discussing here is my journey into Freemasonry and what I discover and feel along the way.  There are not too many secrets, but nonetheless, I won’t be talking about the things that I’m not supposed to.   I realize that in a few more months when I start to understand more about Masonry, I will probably look back and see that these early posts might get some things wrong, and I might be using all of the wrong terminology, but this isn’t a complete book “after the fact”, but what I know and think in the present – which as I already said, isn’t much.

How I first discovered Freemasonry was actually through listening to a totally unrelated Podcast in the Spring of ’06.  One of the guests on that show was a former Mason who gave a really good overview of what Masonry was all about.  Previous shows from this Podcast related to things such as conspiracy theories and the host assumed at the start of the show that Freemasonry would be a very juicy topic.  The host’s only experience with Masonry was in the US Army when he made some sort of derogatory comment about the Freemasons.  He was overheard by a Mason, who held him up against a wall and told him to shut his mouth because he didn’t know what he was talking about.  He was scared at the time and assumed that Freemasonry was evil. 

The show started off with the host retelling this story and wanting to know what dangerous secrets the Freemasons were hiding.  The guest then asked if he was afraid of the Shriners which of course he wasn’t.  He then went on to tell him that you have to first be a Master Mason before you are allowed to join the Shriners and then continued to give a brief history and overview of Masonry.

When I learned that there are millions of Masons world-wide and that they give over 3 million dollars to charity every day in the United States alone, I was very surprised because I had never heard of them.  I consider myself fairly well-read and educated, but this was something that was going on all around me and it had escaped my notice.

I had read The Da Vinci Code and had actually seen National Treasure but it never really occurred to me that the mentioning of the Masons was anything more than historical.  I was at the gym listening to this Podcast, so as soon as I got home I went to Wikipedia and looked up Freemasony .  I think what really hooked me into looking deeper into Freemasonry was the history.  This was a society of men who have been around for hundreds of years who formed a fraternity that went beyond national borders and societies.  It was a society that had attracted many influential and intelligent men throughout it’s history.  Of course the second thing that really interested me was all of the controversy from fundamentalist groups and even historically the Catholic church.  I had to find out why. 

This is my 1st post on Freemasonry and my experiences as a Freemason.  Here is the Table of Contents of my Masonic Journey.

One comment

  1. Wow. This is a GREAT site. I only recently discovered Freemasonry as well. I am in the process of getting some information on the local lodge so that I can join. I am really excited about it, but this blog helps a lot. It’s good to know that there’s someone else out there who didn’t know much about it and still was interested in joining. I can’t wait to get started.



Comments are closed.

